Whitney on cello

I’m arranging a Whitney tune for cello.   Mostly because the soundtrack to The Bodyguard (1992) pretty much defined what singing is about for me at a deep neurological level, and I gotta rep that.   Well, defined emotive singing to synthy soul ballads, at least.    And it’s true, the human voice and cello perform an imitative dance.   So what better to arrange for cello, now, than  a little Whitney?

Actually, it’s an old Dolly Parton tune.   Never heard the original til today.  The nice thing is that the band backs Parton right from the beginning, which will make transcribing the first section much easier.  I was worried I was gonna have to sort out what Whitney was up to, structurally, as she free-forms it up acapella-style in the intro…

http://grooveshark.com/#!/s/I+Will+Always+Love+You/45Voif?src=5

Leave a comment